And the Nolita fairytale comes to end.

“How do I get there?” said my mother when I confirmed her and my greatest fear– that I was in fact moving to Brooklyn, leaving the convenience of the island of Manhattan far behind me.

“Uh, I think the Brooklyn Bridge. And then you drive down Court St. until you hit Carroll Gardens,” was the only answer I knew to give. Because, in truth, I didn’t have a clue as to how to reach my future humble abode.

In that moment of panic, I reflected back to my Nolita move two years prior. Before taking up residence in the adorable downtown neighborhood, I had zero sense of its geography. Life, for me, happened uptown– where a neatly laid out grid helped directionally challenged individuals orient themselves. But anything beyond the grid, well that was just not a place a nice Orthodox Jewish girl ventured (until the summer of 2011, that is).

Of course, two years later, and it’s so hard for me to imagine I ever had a life above 14th Street. And yet, despite this awareness, I am still inexplicably on the edge. Moving around Manhattan is one thing, but migrating to another borough is an entirely different story. My life is about to change– and I’m not convinced it’s for the better. It’s the first major life decision I’ve made without any sense of certainty regarding the payoff.

Which is to say, it’s the first significant risk I’ve taken.  Instead of playing it safe, sticking to the places and people I know, I am venturing into the unknown– and it’s pretty terrifying. And yes, I know I’ve moved to foreign countries, gone to college where I knew not a single soul, and chosen a professional path unlike any the Orthodox world has known. But all those choices  were calculated risks with high rewards.

This move is far less calculated and with far fewer rewards (aside from living within walking distance of my favorite cheese shop: Stinky Bklyn.) It’s what I call the Big Question Mark. While it is an opportunity to explore another neighborhood, in a quiet brownstone-lined area, I have no idea if I will love it or loathe it.

Perhaps the first step to achieving the former is learning how exactly my mother can get to Carroll Gardens? That and listening to Sara Bareilles’ new track on repeat:

Say what you wanna say
And let the words fall out
Honestly I wanna see you be brave

I just wanna see you
I just wanna see you
I just wanna see you
I wanna see you be brave

One response to “And the Nolita fairytale comes to end.

  1. Omg- Good luck on the move! Every step is a new adventure!
    -Minna

Leave a Reply

