Smart girls are pretty

Every so often a Jewish girl like me finds herself in the Sunday school portion of a not so Jewish Catholic Church. And yes, I am aware that my excuse of holiday market shopping is probably not going to silence the maelstrom of rabbinical wrath that my admission is likely to raise. Particularly because today is the last of Chanukah, and what other holiday could I possibly be buying presents for?!

But rather than defend my questionable shopping practices, I will focus on the remarkable discovery I made in the church bathroom. Sprawled across the women’s stall were the following words: Smart Girls Are Pretty.

smart girls

And despite the many synagogues I have frequented in my days, I have never seen such wonderfully empowering words sprawled across a bathroom stall before. Apparently SoHo Catholics are significantly more progressive than their Orthodox Jewish counterparts, and I love them all the more for it.

It was particularly poignant after a weekend with the smartest biddies on the planet, or at least within a 250 mile radius of New York. In between finding the next great American novel, shadowing Charlie Rose at the French Embassy, restructuring failing consumer goods companies, and producing top-notch comedy podcasts, my Wellesley friends and I managed to find the time to embrace in an afternoon of boozy brunch.

boozy brunch

And honestly, if not for these smart, motivated, slightly loonie leftie ladies, I’m not sure I could conjure up the strength to continue trying to make it on the mean streets of New York. Luckily, though, I don’t have to entertain an alternate world in which they do not exist. Unless, of course, the Mayans are right.

 

 

Leave a Reply

