Here’s to looking at you, kid.

There is a difference between being an emotional and an expressive person. An emotional person has lots of feeling- some she expresses, other she suppresses. But regardless of their manifestation or lack thereof, they are very much there, and it doesn’t take much to trigger a spontaneous feelings party.

An expressive person, on the other hand, is one who finds it difficult to suppress her thoughts, feelings, and experiences. Even when she attempts to hide the fact she is a lifelong vegetarian and cannot eat the hot dogs being offered to her at a summertime barbecue, she does. She lets her little secret out. Not through words, but through the rather distorted facial expression she displays as she closes her eyes and pretends like the beef dog she is about to ingest is really a tofu-dog from her neighborhood joint, Asia Dog.

I find myself identifying with the latter. I can be emotional, but more often than not I am unintentionally expressive. A quick study of my face, and you pretty much know where you stand with me. (Ironically, I once thought I would make an excellent politician.) It’s not always a bad thing. But it certainly feels like I operate on an unequal playing field with others, like I deal all my cards before I get even a glimpse of what others are holding in their hands.

I’m basically Humphrey Bogart in Casablanca. I try to be mysterious, broody, and visibly unmoved by life. But in truth, well, I’ll let the film speak for itself:

Leave a Reply

